81 per cent voter turnout in Narayanakhed bypoll in Telangana

, 7:37 PM IST

A heavy 81 per cent polling took place in the bye-election to Narayanakhed Assembly constituency in Medak district of Telangna today.

The polling passed off peacefully and no complaints were received, according to Medak District Collector and Election Officer Ronald Ross.

The voting took place from 7 AM to 5 PM at 286 polling stations.

The 81 per cent turn out of voters was 2 per cent higher than the poll percentage reported during 2014 Assembly election.

Live web casting and videography was also conducted in the bypoll, necessitated by the death of sitting Congress MLA Patlolla Krishna Reddy, popularly known as Kishta Reddy.

Police made elaborate security arrangements to ensure a free and fair poll. Six contingents of Central security forces were deployed.

Although eight candidates are in the fray, the main contenders are TRS, Congress and TDP.

The ruling TRS candidate Bhupal Reddy is pitted against his brother, TDP nominee Vijaypal Reddy, while Congress has fielded Sanjeev Reddy, son of the late MLA.

The counting of votes will be held on February 16.