BJP releases candidate list, Kamakhya Prasad to contest against Gogoi

, 11:02 PM IST

New Delhi: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Wednesday released the names of candidates for the 88 seats for the Assam assembly polls scheduled to be held in two phases on April 4 and 11.

The BJP is fielding 90 candidates in the 126-seat assembly.

“The party has decided to field Kamakhya Prasad Tasa, who is also an MP from Jorhat constituency against Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi,” Union Health Minister J. P. Nadda told the mediapersons here.

Meanwhile, BJP’s chief ministerial candidate Sarbananda Sonowal will contest from Majuli seat.

The decision came after the BJP’s Central Election Committee meeting met in the evening to discuss candidates for forthcoming elections. (ANI)