Tuesday , August 22 2017
Home / News / Hyderabad / CM to call another all-party on districts

CM to call another all-party on districts

An All-Party Meeting held at Secretariat today came up with some suggestions and changes on the process of delimitation of districts and revenue divisions. The leaders from all political parties favored a scientific process and offered some suggestions and proposals for delimitation and almost agreed for delimitation of the districts and revenue divisions.

Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao, who chaired the meeting, offered to call similar meetings twice and take a decision on the key issue. The Government is likely to go ahead with its proposals to increase the number of districts from 27 from 10.

The Congress party alleged that the delimitation of districts was being done in favour of the TRS and suggested a scientific process. Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka opposed the cabinet sub-committee report for splitting Adilabad district with 30 lakh population into three districts while Hyderabad is a district with 45 lakh population.

Telangana TDP also opposed the sub-committee report and made similar suggestions. The BJP favoured districts in the name of Prof. Jayashankar, Bhadrachalam and Sammakka and Sarakka. The CPM also favoured Bhadrachalam and Jangaon districts, while CPI asked the government to avoid political steps and follow scientific approach.

Besides the Cabinet Sub-Committee Members, Ministers and two leaders each from seven political parties attended the meeting Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka and Shabbir Ali of Congress, L Ramana and Ravula Chandrasekhar Reddy from TDP, Ramchendra Rao and Malla Reddy of BJP, Ch Venkat Reddy and Palla Venkat Reddy of CPI, Tammineni Veerabhadram and Julakanti Ranga Reddy of CPM and Pasha Quadri of MIM participated in the meeting. (NSS)