Wednesday , August 23 2017
Home / News / Telangana / Disqualify 4 MLAs who defected to TRS; TDP tells Speaker

Disqualify 4 MLAs who defected to TRS; TDP tells Speaker

Hyderabad: TDP in Telangana today sought the disqualification of its four MLAs, who switched loyalty to the ruling TRS this week.

The N Chandrababu Naidu-led Opposition party called the conduct of these legislators as “unethical and unconstitutional”.

“The members dissented from the party and joined TRS in presence of K Chandrasekhar Rao, President of TRS, which is unethical and unconstitutional and opposed to democratic principles.

“It is quite contrary to 10th Schedule of Constitution of India as well as they are defeating the immediate moto of anti-defection law. I, therefore, request you to kindly examine and disqualify them from their legislative membership forthwith under the provisions of Constitution,” TDP MLA A Revanth Reddy said in a letter to Telangana Assembly Speaker.

The letter named Errabelli Dayakar Rao, T Prakash Goud, K Vivekananda, S Rajender Reddy.

Revanth Reddy has been named the leader of TDP in the Assembly by Naidu, the party President.

Meanwhile, 10 of the 15 TDP MLAs, who have quit their parent party, have asked the Speaker to merge them with the TRS.