Crime in Hyderabad

Document writer, stamp vendor held for fraud

Document writer, stamp vendor held for fraud

The South Zone Team of Commissioner’s Task Force, with the assistance of Kanchanbagh Police, today apprehended two persons — Lateef Mohammed Khan and Malla Reddy — who are procuring old non-Judicial stamp papers and erasing original names and document dates with Ink remover and selling them to litigants/real estate brokers on higher prices.

The police arrested document writer Lateef Mohammed Khan, 50, of  New Santoshnagar Colony and Malla Reddy, 60, of Indiranagar, Chandrayangutta and seized 75 non-judicial stamp papers, two small plastic bottles containing ink erasing liquid, a small cotton bundle and two pens.

On a tip-off, the South Zone Task Force Team apprehended the accused on Sunday. During investigation, Lateef Mohammed Khan, a document writer, who used to process registration work of immovable properties, was running document writing office styled as “Khan Associates” since 2003. He learnt the work from his father, who was also a document writer. It was found that the accused purchased some 50 stamp papers from one Malla Reddy in May this year on lesser price and some 100 outdated stamp papers from one Azam Ali about three years back for Rs 5,000 which were procured by him in the Government auctions and out of which he sold out some of the above documents to the litigants/Real estate brokers on higher price depending on the document ranging from Rs 3000 to 8000 each by erasing the original names and document dates with the help of Ink remover and earning easy money illegally and cheating the actual authorized owners of properties. Efforts are being made to establish the identity of the persons, who purchased the stamp papers.

            The accused along with seized property were handed over to S.H.O. Kachanbagh P.S. The arrests were made under the supervision of N. Koti Reddy, Addl. Dy. Commissioner of Police, Commissioner’s Task Force, Hyd., by A. Yadagiri, Inspector of Police, South Zone Task Force, SI P. Pramod Kumar Reddy of Kanchanbagh P.S., SIs G. Mallesh, SK Jakeer Hussain, B. Madhusudan and N. Srisailam and the staff of South Zone Task Force, Hyderabad City. (NSS)