GHMC unanimously elects five Co-Option members

GHMC unanimously elects five Co-Option members

Four TRS leaders and one MIM nominee were unanimously elected as Co-Option members of the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC) here on Tuesday.

The election was conducted in the third special general body meeting of GHMC, which was held under the chairmanship of Mayor Bonthu Rammohan at the corporation’s head quarters. Two members, belonging to minority communities, were elected in the first session. Soon after the meeting began, Doodhbowli Corporator MA Ghaffar proposed the candidature of Mohammed Mahmood Hussain (Engineer), a leader of MIM. Bagh Amberpet corporator Manne Kavitha proposed the name of TRS leader Dr. Vidya Shravanti, a Christian nominee. Both the names were unanimously accepted by the members.

After administering the oath to Mahmood Hussain and Dr. Shravanti, the Mayor adjourned the first session.

The second session began after 10 minutes wherein three TRS nominees G. Mukkala Jyothi, M. Rajeev Gupta and C. Narasimha Rao were unanimously elected as Co-Option members. They were also administered oath by the Mayor.

The special general body meeting was also attended by ex-officio members including Ministers Talasani Srinivas Yadav and T. Padma Rao. (INN)