International Women’s Day on March 8—TS Govt to Honour Eminent Women

International Women’s Day on March 8—TS Govt to Honour Eminent Women

The Telangana State Government is celebrating the International Women’s Day on March 8.  The Government has constituted a high- level Celebrations Committee under the Chairmanship of Minister for WCD&SC for organizing the celebrations in a befitting manner.         The Celebrations Committee has proposed the following list of eminent Women working in various fields to be honored on the occasion of International Women’s Day.


Education: Dr. Vidyavathi of Warangal- First woman Vice Chancellor (Kakatiya University) in Telangana


Social Service: Smt. Janaki, Hyderabad- Visually Challenged, Running a school for deaf and dumb students. Recipient of Hellen Keller Award. Tirunagari Devakidevi Mahaboobnagar- Active participation in Telangana Movement during 1969 and second phase.       Smt. Gayathri,  Wanaparthy- Herself being a Visually Challenged person working as a Head Mistress at Z.P.H.S,Wanaparthy; and Kurma Laxmi Bai,          Dhaiguda (V) Pippal, Adilabad- Untiring struggle by a kolama woman to get back her land

Agriculture: Duddeda Sugunamma,  Katkoor (V), Janagama- Produced highest yield of produce per acre with innovative farming techniques;    Nagamani,  Dosapahad (V) Penpahad (M) Nalgonda- Role Model for woman farmers.


Telangana Movement: Smt. S. Manemma,  Uppal – Active participation in Telangana Movement; Dhatrika Swapna, Hyderabad- Student of O.U. injured (with bullets) during the Telangana Movement; and             Moola Vijaya Reddy, Peddapalli- Active participation in Telangana Movement.

Professional Services: Prameela, Mancheryala- An eminent Lawyer and also played key role in Telangana Movement.

Literature: Anisetty Rajitha, Warangal- An eminent writer on woman issues; and      Shajahana, Khammam -An eminent writer on woman issues.

Dance : Dr. Vanaja Uday ,Hyderabad -Contribution to the field of Dance since 25 years. Head of the Department, Telugu University.

Painting: Smt. Anjani Reddy, Zaheerabad – An eminent painter.


Music: Payal Kotgareekar, Nizamabad- Most talented Tabla player.


Songs in Telangana Movement: Chaitanya, Nalgonda and         Swarna, Karimnagar – Widespread the spirit of Telangana Movement through songs.


Sports: Priyadarshini, Warangal- Won Gold Medal in Weight Lifting in Commonwealth Games.


Journalism: Madapati Satyavathi, Hyderabad – First News Reader in Radio; Katta Kavitha, Chittyala, Nalgonda- An eminent Journalist and writer in Print Media; and             G. Malliswari, Warangal- First Video Journalist.


Cashless Transaction Service (100% cashless villages):  M. Padma, Sarpanch – Gollapalli, Timmapur (M), Karimnagar and Kumbhala Lakshmi, Sarpanch, Ibrahimnagar, Siddipet.- Strived for 100% cashless transactions in the village as Sarpanch.


After careful consideration, Government has approved the above list of awardees and it is decided to honour them with a cash Award of Rs.1.00 Lakh each along with citation.(NSS)