KCR unveils 21 districts, a new chapter in Telangana’s history begins

KCR unveils 21 districts, a new chapter in Telangana’s history begins

Siddipet: Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao on Tuesday unveiled new districts fulfilling one of his poll promises of reorganizing the districts in the state. With the creation of 21 new districts the number of districts in the state rose to 31 from 10.

The Chief Minister led his Cabinet colleagues in inaugurating the districts by formally inaugurating Siddipet district which was carved out of Medak at 11.13am on Tuesday. He hoisted the Tricolour and performed religious rituals amid vedic chants.

Speaking on the occasion, the Chief Minister said that the creation of new districts was a milestone in the history of the new state and promised to develop the state by carrying out various welfare schemes. He reiterated that the creation of new districts was only for the administrative convenience. He said that his government would strive for attaining Golden Telangana. He asserted that the smaller districts will help in better monitoring and implementation of welfare schemes.

Assembly speaker S. Madhusudhana Chary inaugurated Jayashankar district while Council Chairman K. Swamy Goud launched Jangaon district. Deputy Chief Minister Kadiam Srihari inaugurated Warangal Rural district. All the three districts were carved out of the Warangal district.

Meanwhile, Deputy Chief Minister and Revenue Minister Mahmood Ali inaugurated Jagtial district, created out of Karimnagar district.

The government, along with 21 new districts, also created 25 new revenue divisions, 125 new mandals, four new police commissionerates, 23 new police sub-divisions, 28 new circles and 91 police stations. (INN)