Tuesday , August 22 2017
Home / News / Politics / LIVE By-election 2016 results: Telangana, UP, Gujarat, Jharkhand

LIVE By-election 2016 results: Telangana, UP, Gujarat, Jharkhand

Hyderabad: Along with the results of assembly elections 2016, the Election Commission of India also disclosed the results of by-elections conducted in several constituencies which were left vacant due to death or resignation of sitting legislators. The seats which were contested include Bilari (Moradabad) in Uttar Pradesh, Talala in Gujarat, Godda and Panki in Jharkhand and Palair in Telangana.

The electoral fight is mainly between Samajwadi Party candidate Mohammad Fahim and BJP leader Suresh Saini.

All eyes were set in UP’s Moradabad, where the results would indicate the mood of the people leading up to the 2017 assembly elections, which would be contested at the onset of next year.

In Telangana, K Chandrasekhara Rao led a strong campaign in the assembly constituency of Palair. The poll was neccesiated after Congress MLA Ramreddy Venkat Reddy passed in March.

Counting of votes polled for the by-poll to Palair Assembly constituency in Telangana’s Khammam district began today amid tight security. The result is expected to be declared by late afternoon, a Government official said.

Thirteen candidates, including nine independents, were in the fray. The by-election was necessitated after Congress MLA from the constituency Ramreddy Venkat Reddy passed away in March.

Another significant electoral battle is fought in Gujarat’s Talala which is considered to be a litmus test for Chief Minister Anandiben Patel. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leadership is exploring the option of removing Patel, as her stint as the chief minister has been highly unpopular among dwellers of the state.

In Jharkhand, Rashtriya Janata Dal has fielded candidates in both the constituencies Panki and Godda. Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar also visited the state to pump voters in both the assembly segments.