India News Top Stories

MCD Election: All 5 BJP’s Muslim candidates lose in Delhi civic polls

MCD Election: All 5 BJP’s Muslim candidates lose in Delhi civic polls

NEW DELHI: The five Muslim candidates fielded by the saffron party in an attempt to woo minorities, faced defeat and lost in their respective Muslims dominated wards.

The Muslim faces of Delhi BJP were, Sartaj Ahmed from Chauhan Banger, Kuwar Rafi form Zakir Nagar, Sabra Malik from Mustafabad, Famudin Safi from Delhi Gate and Rubina Begum from Quresh Nagar.
Out of five, Congress has emerged as winner on four seats, whereas AAP succeeded in grabbing one seat.

The winners from these constituencies were all Muslim candidates. Shoeb Danish (INC) from Zakir Nagar, Alley Mohd Iqbal (INC) from Delhi Gate, Abdul Rahman (AAP) from Chauhan Banger, Parveen (INC) from Mustafabad, and Neha Fatima (INC) from Quresh Nagar.

Muhammad Ali Khan, Congress spokesperson, told News 18, “These areas where BJP had fielded Muslim candidates were essentially Congress strongholds, hence this verdict was expected. Fielding Muslim candidates from these areas was an extremely superficial act and was mere tokenism. Look at what a top BJP leader said recently that Muslims have been given sanctity under them, these statements, are nothing but tokenism.”

A senior RSS leader on the condition of anonymity said, “The assumption that Muslims vote for BJP is baseless.”

“I have data to prove that Muslims never vote for BJP, then how can one assume that they did so during the MCD elections. The 10% who really vote should question themselves as to why do they do so,” said the RSS leader.

BJP was on Wednesday set to retain the three municipal corporations in the national capital by winning a total 184 seats out of the 272. AAP managed to win 46 and Congress won 30.