India News

Parliamentary panel revisits spots filmed by AAP lawmaker Bhagwant Mann

Parliamentary panel revisits spots filmed by AAP lawmaker Bhagwant Mann

New Delhi: The Lok Sabha panel looking into the issue of Bhagwant Mann’s parliament video on Thursday revisited the spots videographed by the AAP lawmaker to ascertain if there was any loophole in the security.

Starting from the first barricade at Vijay Chowk, four panel members, led by its chairman Kirit Somaiya, and officials of Parliament security and Delhi Police, inspected various security spots and held discussions with the personnel deployed there.

“We reconstructed the entire route filmed by Mann. We checked every chowk and spot, covering each barricade before entering Parliament and asked the security men deployed there how they missed the video being shot,” Mr Somaiaya told PTI.

He said the committee will again meet next week and discuss how to tighten the security apparatus.

“The Committee will sit next week for three days starting Tuesday to ascertain if there is need to improve the systems and strengthen the security following its breach due to the videography. Suggestions from staff will also be sought and the issue will be discussed with top police officials and security experts,” he said.

Somaiaya said the report that the committee will submit will be in two parts — one part will look into the role of Mann in exposing Parliament security and the other to suggest corrective measures.

The nine-member panel was granted two more weeks with effect from August 4 by Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan, after Somaiya sought more time saying more witnesses were needed to be examined and certain critical issues to be probed in depth.

The panel was set up to probe into the incident of serious breach of security of the parliament house by the “improper conduct” of Mann by videographing and posting critical footage of parliament house complex on Facebook.

Since then, the AAP lawmaker from Sangrur has been advised not to attend the sittings of the house until a decision is taken.

Besides Somaiya, the panel has two BJP members — Meenakshi Lekhi and Satyapal Singh. The others are Anandrao Adsul (Shiv Sena), B Mahtab (BJD), Ratna De (TMC), Thota Narasimham (TDP), K C Venugopal (Congress) and P Venugopal (AIADMK).