Thursday , August 24 2017

Polling on in three UP assembly seat by-election

Polling on in three UP assembly seat by-election

Lucknow:Polling is going on for the by-election to the Bikapur, Deoband and Muzaffarnagar assembly seat in Uttar Pradesh today.

A total of over 32 per cent polling was reported in by-elections being held in Bikapur (Faizabad district), Deoband (Saharanpur district) and in Muzaffarnagar district till 2 pm.

“A total of 32 per cent polling was today witnessed till 2 pm in the by-elections,” according to UP Chief Electoral Office in Lucknow.

While in Deoband polling was 34 per cent, in Muzaffarnagar it was 29 per cent and in Bikapur it was 35 per cent till 2 pm.

There was no report of any untoward incident from anywhere, Home department officials said here.

The by-elections were necessitated in Muzaffarnagar, Deoband and Bikur due to demise of SP MLAs Chitranjan Swaroop, Rajendra Singh Rana and Mitrasen Yadav last year.

The counting for these seats will be held on February 16.