Rajiv Sadbhavana Award for Justice M N Rao

, 10:56 PM IST

AICC General Secretary and MP Digvijaya Singh will be the chief guest on the occasion of “Rajiv Gandhi Sadbhavana Yatra Commemoration Day” on Wednesday at Historic Charminar at 10.30 am.


In a pressnote here today, Rajiv Gandhi Sadbhavana Yatra Commemoration committee chairman G Niranjan stated that TPCC president Uttam Kumar Reddy will hoist the party flag at Rajiv Gandhi Sadbhavana pole at Charminar, where late Rajiv Gandhi had hoisted the party flag. Justice M.N. Rao, former Chief Justice of Himachal Pradesh and former Chariman, National Commission for Backward Classes will be honored with the “Sadbhavana Award” on the occasion.

            “Our beloved leader Late Rajiv Gandhi hoisted the Congress flag at Charminar and commenced his Sadbhavana Yatra in the twin cities of Hyderabad and Secunderad on October 19, 1990. The Rajiv Gandhi Sadbhavana Yatra Commemoration Committee is observing October 19 as “Rajiv Gandhi Sadbhavana Yatra Commemoration Day” and organizing the program every year at Charminar for the past 26 years and presenting Sadbhavana Award to an eminent personality in recognition of his services to the society.

            Senior Congress leaders S. Jaipal Reddy, Bhatti Vikramarka Mullu, K. Jana Reddy, Mohd. Ali Shabbir, Koppula Raju, R.C. Khuntia, V. Hanumantha Rao, G. Chinna Reddy and MPs, MLAs and other important leaders will take part in the program, he added. (NSS)