All set for election of new GHMC Mayor

, 5:28 PM IST

All arrangements are in place for the election of new Mayor of Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC) on Thursday. The election will be held in the Council Hall of GHMC Headquarters at Tank Bund.

A total of 217 members, including 150 newly elected corporators, will elect the Mayor and Deputy Mayor. As per the ordinance issued by the State Government last week, all MPs, MLAs and MLCs, who are registered as voters in GHMC limits have been made eligible for voting for the post of Mayor and Deputy Mayor. They include 4 Lok Sabha members, 10 Rajya Sabha members, 24 MLAs and 29 MLCs.

The four Lok Sabha members are Bandaru Dattatraya (BJP – Secunderabad), Asaduddin Owaisi (MIM – Hyderabad), Kotha Prabhakar Reddy (TRS – Medak) and Ch Malla Reddy (TDP – Malkajgiri). The 10 Rajya Sabha members include KVP Ramachandra Rao, V Hanumantha Rao, Rapolu Ananda Bhaskar, P Govardhan Reddy, Jairam Ramesh, M A Khan and K. Chiranjeevi (all Congress), CM Ramesh and Garikapati Mohan Rao (both TDP) and K Keshava Rao (TRS).

The 24 MLAs include Talasani Srinivas Yadav, T. Padma Rao, Akbaruddin Owaisi, Mumtaz Ahmed Khan, Md Mauzam Khan, Jaffer Hussain Meraj, Kausar Mohiuddin, Ahmed Bin Balala, Syed Ahmed Pasha Qadri, Dr. K Laxman, G Kishan Reddy, Chintala Ramchandra Reddy, D Raja Singh, NVSS Prabhakar, Maganti Gopinath, Vivekanand Reddy, R Krishnaiah, Prakash Goud, Gandhi, T Padma Rao, Mahipal Reddy and Kanaka Reddy. (INN)