Sonia Gandhi appoints 21-member coordination committee for Jharkhand unit

, 4:23 PM IST

New Delhi : Congress Party president Sonia Gandhi on Monday appointed a 21-member coordination committee to manage the affairs of the party in Jharkhand.

A press release issued by Congress general secretary Janardhan Dwivedi on behalf of Sonia Gandhi said that the coordination committee would be headed by Congress Legislature Party (CLP) leader Alamgir Khan, and would include union ministers Subodh Kant Sahay and Rameshwar Oraon.

The coordination committee also has two serving Members of Parliament — D. P. Sahu and Pradeep Balmuchu; three former members of parliament — Dr. Ajoy Kumar, Furkan Ansari and Kameshwr Baitha, besides five former state ministers and a former Pradesh Congress Committee president, and others.

The press release further reveals that the Jharkhand unit of the Congress Party will have five special invitees, four members of the disciplinary committee and five media department representatives. (ANI)