TRS leader Fareeduddin elected unopposed to Telangana Council

, 12:28 PM IST

Hyderabad: Mohammad Fareeduddin of ruling TRS was today elected uncontested to Telangana Legislative Council in a by-election.

Fareeduddin’s election was declared by the Returning Officer and Secretary to State Legislature, a release from office of the Chief Electoral Officer said.

He was elected unopposed by MLAs in the bypoll, which was necessitated following the resignation of state minister T Nageswara Rao.

Rao resigned from Council after he was elected to the Legislative Assembly in a bypoll.