Hyderabad Telangana

TRS picks DS, Lakshmikant Rao for RS seats

TRS picks DS, Lakshmikant Rao for RS seats

The Telangana Rashtra Samithi on Thursday named Capt. Lakshmikanth Rao and Dharmapuri Srinvas as its candidates for the Rajya Sabha elections.

Further, former minister Md. Fareeduddin will be the TRS candidate for MLC seat, which fell vacant to the resignation of R&B Minister Tummala Nageshwara Rao following his election as Palair MLA.

The notification for the Rajya Sabha elections was issued on May 24 and last date for filing of nominations is 31st May. While nominations will be scrutinised on 1st June, the last date for withdrawal of candidature will be 3rd June. Polling will be held on 11th June from 9 AM to 4 PM and counting of votes will take place on the same day from 5 PM.

Two seats are falling vacant as the term of G. Sudha Rani (TDP) and V. Hanumantha Rao (INC) in Telangana will expire on June 21. The Congress party does not have required numbers to contest the Rajya Sabha elections and therefore, both Lakshmikanth Rao and Srinivas are likely to get elected un-contested. Following their election, the strength of TRS in Upper House will increase to three.(INN)