Monday , August 21 2017
Home / News / Telangana / TS committed to provide uninterrupted power to industry

TS committed to provide uninterrupted power to industry

Telangana Energy secretary Arvind Kumar has said the State government was committed to provide uninterrupted quality power supply to the industry.
Speaking at an interactive session on electricity budget, organized by the Confederation of Indian Industry at a private hotel on Friday, Arvind Kumar said the TSGENCO has already grounded projects at Manuguru, Kothagudem and Dameracherla within a record one year and the entire capacity will be coming up in the government sector with equity support from the government.
Financial closure is already achieved for these projects. While Manuguru (1080 MW) is expected to be commissioned by December this year, Kothagudem (800 MW) and Dameracherla (4000 MW) are likely to be commissioned by December 2017 and December 2018 respectively. The Singareni Collieries has also planned to set up another 600 MW unit. Besides, Wardha-Maheshwaram Line is expected to be commissioned by December this year.
The NTPC has started work on setting up of 4000 MW of Thermal Power Plant at Ramagundam. This project is exclusively dedicated to Telangana as per the Reorganization Act 2014. The Government of India has already allocated coal linkage. Tenders are called for 2×800 MW, he said. In addition to 215 MW of available Solar Power, the government plans to add another 2500 MW in the next two to three years. He said the total generating capacity will be around 14,000 MW thermal power by 2018-19 financial year. He also listed out other measures being taken by the State Govenrment to improve the energy scenario.
The issues arising out of non-availability of hydel power due to low rains last year and arising short-term power purchase agreements were also discussed. Arvind Kumar stressed the need for the industry to come forward and be a partner in development along with the Energy department. He assured the industry that the State government was fully aware of the problems being faced by the industry and will address all their demands.
Raghuma Reddy, CMD TSSPDCL, C. Srinivas Rao MD TNREDCL, Vanitha Datla, Chairperson CII, representative from various industry bodies were present. (NSS)