BJP announces Maha list: Fadnavis again named from Nagpur SW

New Delhi: A day after announcing its Haryana list of candidates, the BJP on Tuesday released its list for Maharashtra. The BJP, in the first go, has released names of 125 candidates, including present Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis who will once again be fighting from the Nagpur South West seat.

BJP state chief Chandrakant Dada Patil will be fighting from Kothrud. Among others, Manohar Bhadane has been named from Dhule rural and BJP Minister Pankaja Munde from Parli.

Tuesday’s announcement comes a day after Sena and BJP announced that they will be fighting the Assembly elections together. BJP state chief Patil and senior Shiv Sena leader Subhash Desai signed the statement on Monday night, putting days of speculations to rest.

MS Education Academy

Meanwhile, the Shiv Sena has only released names of 124 constituencies wherefrom it will contest. IANS was the first media organization to claim, Sena would be given 124 seats, according to the pre-poll alliance. However, Sena has been promised a couple of MLCs from BJP’s quota.

These names were approved by the BJP’s Central Election Committee that held the meeting on Sunday. Prime Minister Modi, party president Amit Shah, working President J.P. Nadda, Rajnath Singh, Nitin Gadkari were some of the leaders who were present at the CEC.

The saffron party has little time left, as the Election Commission has fixed October 4 as the last date for filing nomination.

The 288-member Maharashtra Assembly will go to the polls on October 21, while the results will be declared on October 24.

Subscribe us on The Siasat Daily - Google News
Back to top button