Cadbury issues clarification after twitterati react to beef controversy

New Delhi: Cadbury has issued a clarification after a few netizens shared a screenshot on Twitter claiming that the company uses gelatin in some of its products.

In the screenshot, it was mentioned, “please note, if any of our products contain gelatin in the ingredients, the gelatin we use is halal certified and derived from beef”.

Reacting to the claim, many netizens started sharing the screenshot with “#BoycottCadbury”.

MS Education Academy

One of the Twitterati wrote, ” Cadbury admits that their products might contain gelatin and its halal certified derived from beef.

Okay @DairyMilkIn @cadburysilk @CadburyWorld @CadburyAU . Thanks for letting us know.

Yuck. I have decided to #BoycottCadbury.”.  

Another netizen wrote, ” What on earth is this @Cadbury_SA

Is it true that gelatin used is derived from bèèf ?

Then why was it missing from the ingredients list and why the Green dot !!

All chocolate companies should clear this ! #boycottcadbury”.

Issuing clarification over the issue, the company wrote, ” The screenshot shared in the Tweet is not related to Mondelez products manufactured in India. All the products manufactured and sold in India are 100% vegetarian. The green dot on the wrapper signifies that”.

Despite the clarification, many netizens are still sharing the screenshot.

Subscribe us on The Siasat Daily - Google News
Back to top button