Covid vaccine dry run in Karnataka’s 5 districts on Saturday

Bengaluru, Jan 1 : Karnataka braces for Covid vaccine dry run in five districts, including Bengaluru across the state on Saturday, an official said on Friday.

“A dry run for Covid vaccination will be conducted in five districts – Belagavi, Bengaluru, Kalaburagi, Mysuru and Shivamogga across the state, as directed by the Union Health Ministry to streamline logistics for supplying the medicine when rolled out commercially soon,” a state health official told IANS here.

In this tech hub, the city’s civic corporation has identified three primary health centres (PHCs) for the mock exercise of the mega immunization programme.

“Arrangements have been made to conduct the vaccine dry run in three PHCs across the city, with training to 25 health workers in each centre for the programme,” said Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) administrator Gaurva Gupta.

The dry run will be held at Kamashipalya centre in the city’s west zone, Vidyapeetha centre in south zone and Hargade centre at Anekal in the urban district’s southern region.

“We have lined up 1,517 PHCs across the city for the actual vaccine inoculation from January-end or early February,” said Gupta in a statement here.

READ:  SC dismisses UP govt's plea challenging bail to Azam Khan's family

The civic body will submit a report on the dry run to the state and central governments as directed by the health ministry.

The data will also be uploaded on the Co-Win application platform, which will be the digital for the nationwide campaign.

“The dry run will prepare the state to manage Covid vaccine supply, storage and logistics, including cold chain management.

In Belagavi district in the state’s northwest region, the dry run will be held at Vantamuri urban PHC, Kittur community health centre and the state-run general hospital at Hukkeri.

In Kalaburagi district in the state’s northern region, the mock exercise will be held at the Ashok Nagar PHC in the city, Jewargi taluk hospital and Aurad rural centre.

In Mysuru district in the state’s southern region, the dry run will be conducted at Jayanagar community health center in the city’s Jayanagar suburb, Bilikere PHC and K.R. Nagar taluk hospital.

READ:  Court sentences AAP MLA Somnath Bharti to 2 years in jail

In Shivamogga district in the state’s Malnad region, the exercise will be held at McGann hospital in the city, Shikaripura taluk hospital and at Antharagange PHC at Bhadravati taluk.

Shikariupra is the hometown of the state’s Chief Minister B.S. Yediyurappa.

“At each centre, a medical officer (doctor), two vaccinating officers (male and female) a data entry operator to verify documents and upload the data on the Co-Win vaccine network portal and a security officer were trained on Friday,” the official said.

The exercise will be held as per the Covid vaccination operational guidelines, which include bio-medical waste management and adverse reaction following the immunisation (AEFI) tagging.

“At each centre, five vaccine beneficiaries will be observed for about 30 minutes in the AEFI room during the dry run. About 100 people will be vaccinated per day at every PHC across the state from 9:00am to 5:00pm when the mega programme is implemented later this month,” added the official.

Disclaimer: This story is auto-generated from IANS service.

Subscribe us on The Siasat Daily - Google News
Back to top button