Dabeerpura by-election: AIMIM retains seat

Hyderabad: All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) retained the Dabeerpura seat as party’s candidate Basit Ali won the by-election by a margin of 9240 votes.

Ali got 10465 votes whereas, Mirza Akhil Afandi of BJP managed to get 1225 votes. Candidates of Congress, TRS and TDP got 950, 620 and 147 votes.

After collecting the certificate from the Returning Officer, Ali visited head office in Darussalm and met with the leaders of the party.

Ali won the seat despite low voters turnout of 27.31 percent.

It may be mentioned that the seat had become vacant after the Corporator of Dabeerpura, Riyaz-ul-Hassan Effendi got elected as Member of Legislative Council (MLC).

READ:  Non-stop Air India flight from Hyderabad to Chicago to start tomorrow
Subscribe us on The Siasat Daily - Google News
Back to top button