Despite RTC strike, TRS wins Huzurnagar assembly byelection

HYDERABAD: The ruling TRS in Telangana wins the Huzurnagar Assembly seat by 43,624 votes.

S. Saidi Reddy of Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) secured 1,08,004 votes against his nearest rival Nalamada Padmavathi Reddy of Congress with 74,638 votes.

And the BJP candidate Dr Kota Rama Rao managed to get 2,621 votes.

In 2018, Uttam Kumar Reddy had retained Huzurnagar seat by defeating Saidi Reddy of TRS with a margin of 7,466 votes.

The ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) bagging the Huzurnagar seat with a record margin of 43,624 votes has dealt a blow to 50,000 workers who were on 20-day-long strike called by employees of Telangana State Road Transport Corporation (TSRTC).

READ:  GHMC polls: Amit Shah, Yogi Adityanath to campaign in Hyderabad

The workers had gone on strike on October 5.

The constituency, with over 2.36 lakh voters, had recorded 84.75 per cent polling in the by-election held on October 21.

Following this, TRS supporters and followers started celebrating at the TRS office in Warangal. Cabinet Minister in Telangana government Errabelli Dayakar Rao also joined in.

The byelection was necessitated due to the resignation of sitting MLA and Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee (TPCC) president N. Uttam Kumar Reddy following his 2019 general elections.

On October 18, Bharatiya Janata Party’s state unit wrote to Election Commission seeking disqualification of Reddy for allegedly violating the election expenditure limit.

Subscribe us on The Siasat Daily - Google News
Back to top button