DMK not to press no-confidence motion against Speaker

Chennai: DMK President M.K.Stalin on Friday said his party will not press for a no-confidence motion against Speaker P. Dhanapal owing to the changed circumstances.

Speaking to reporters here, Stalin said: “We will not insist on taking up the no-confidence motion. The situation has changed now. We have given a letter to the Speaker not insisting on the notice for the no-confidence motion.”

The DMK chief had written to the Secretary of Tamil Nadu Assembly proposing a no-confidence motion against Dhanapal after the latter sent show-cause notices to three All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) MLAs — A. Prabhu (representing Kallakuruchi), Rathinasabapathy (Aranthangi) and V.T. Kalaiselvan (Virudhachalam) — in April seeking explanations for their anti-party activities.

MS Education Academy

In the 234-member Tamil Nadu Assembly, the ruling AIADMK has 123 members (including the Speaker), DMK 100, Congress 7, Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) and Independent one each and two vacant seats.

Meanwhile, the opening day of the Assembly session on Friday was adjourned after adopting obituary references for two lawmakers — R. Kanagaraj of AIADMK and K. Radhamani of DMK — who died recently.

The House will meet on July 1 to take up the demands for grants for various departments.


Subscribe us on The Siasat Daily - Google News
Back to top button