Dubbaka bypoll results: BJP takes early lead, TRS trails

Hyderabad: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate M Raghunandan Rao has taken an early lead in the bypoll of Dubbak assembly constituency, the counting of which is still underway.

As per the official result, BJP’ s Rao polled 20226 votes so far, while the ruling TRS candidate, Solipeta Sujatha polled 17559 votes. Congress candidate Srinivas Reddy is third with 3254 votes.

By fielding Cheruku Srinivas Reddy, who had defected from the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), the opposition Congress is hoping to give a tough fight to the ruling party.

MS Education Academy

On the other hand, the TRS appears confident to retain the seat as it has fielded Solipeta Sujatha, wife of S. Ramalinga Reddy, whose death in August caused the vacancy.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has again given ticket to Raghunandan Rao, who had finished a poor third in the 2018 election.

Subscribe us on The Siasat Daily - Google News
Back to top button