Emirates restrict entry, suspends flight for passengers from 13 countries to Dubai

Abu Dhabi: Concerns over the spread of the Omicron variant of COVID-19 have led Emirates Airlines to place suspension of passenger services from 13 destinations—six African countries, and one-way suspension of services from seven other countries.

In an update on its website on Wednesday, January 5, customers originating from the following destinations are not accepted for travel to or through Dubai, until further notice.

Restrictions on entry and transit through Dubai

  • Republic of Angola (LAD)
  • Republic of Guinea (CKY)
  • Republic of Kenya (NBO)
  • United Republic of Tanzania (DAR)
  • Republic of Uganda (EBB)
  • Republic of Ghana (ACC)
  • Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia (ADD)

Cancelled flights (to and from Dubai)

  • Republic of Cote d’Ivoire
  • Lusaka
  • Harare
  • Lagos
  • Abuja
  • Casablanca

How to proceed if you’re travelling from one of these countries

Passengers who have already booked flights from these destinations do not need to contact the airline. “Affected customers do not need to call us immediately for rebooking,” Emirates advises on its website.

MS Education Academy

“Customers can simply hold on to their Emirates ticket and, when flights resume, get in touch with their travel agent or booking office to make new travel plans.”

What are the exemptions?

  • UAE citizens, their first-degree relatives, diplomatic missions, official delegations between the UAE and these countries, and golden visa holders are exempt from restrictions and can fly in from these countries.
  • These travellers must submit a negative COVID-19 test obtained within 48 hours of departure and a Rapid-PCR test at the airport within six hours of departure where possible. Another PCR test will be required at the airport upon arrival in the UAE.
  • A 10-day quarantine and a PCR test on the ninth day of entering the country is required for UAE citizens, their first-degree relatives, diplomatic missions and golden visa holders.
  • UAE citizens are barred from travelling to any of the listed countries in Africa except for emergency treatment cases, official delegations and scholarships.

Subscribe us on The Siasat Daily - Google News

Sakina Fatima

Sakina Fatima, a digital journalist with Siasat.com, has a master's degree in business administration and is a graduate in mass communication and journalism. Sakina covers topics from the Middle East, with a leaning towards human interest issues.
Back to top button