ICC World Cup: New Zealand defeat India by 18 runs, enter final

Manchester: New Zealand reached their second World Cup final with a stunning 18-run win over shell-shocked India at Old Trafford on Wednesday.

The Black Caps will play hosts England or holders Australia in Sunday’s title match at Lord’s after pulling off a remarkable triumph against two-time champions India.

New Zealand, beaten in the 2015 final by Australia, were restricted to just 239-8 after completing their 50 overs a day later than expected following the suspension of play due to rain on Tuesday.

But Kane Williamson’s side bowled superbly to rock India, with three top-order wickets from paceman Matthew Henry proving the key contribution in dismissing the pre-tournament favourites for 221.

India v New Zealand World Cup scoreboard

New Zealand (overnight 211-5)

M. Guptill c Kohli b Bumrah 1

H. Nicholls b Jadeja 28

K. Williamson c Jadeja b Chahal 67

R. Taylor run out (Jadeja) 74

J. Neesham c Karthik b Pandya 12

C. De Grandhomme c Dhoni b Kumar 16

T. Latham c Jadeja b Kumar 10

M. Santner not out 9

M. Henry c Kohli b Kumar 1

T. Boult not out 3

Extras (lb5, w13) 18

Total (eight wickets, 50 overs) 239

Did not bat: Lockie Ferguson

Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Guptill), 2-69 (Nicholls), 3-134 (Williamson), 4-162 (Neesham), 5-200 (De Grandhomme), 6-225 (Taylor), 7-225 (Latham), 8-232 (Henry)

Bowling: Kumar 10-1-43-3, Bumrah 10-1-39-1, Pandya 10-0-55-1 (w5), Jadeja 10-0-34-1, Chahal 10-0-63-1 (w4)

India (target 240)

KL Rahul c Latham b Henry 1

R. Sharma c Latham b Henry 1

V. Kohli lbw b Boult 1

R. Pant c De Grandhomme b Santner 32

D. Karthik c Neesham b Henry 6

H. Pandya c Williamson b Santner 32

MS Dhoni run out (Guptill) 50

R. Jadeja c Williamson b Boult 77

B. Kumar b Ferguson 0

Y. Chahal c Latham b Neesham 5

J. Bumrah not out 0

Extras (lb3, w13) 16

Total (all out, 49.3 overs) 221

Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Sharma), 2-5 (Kohli), 3-5 (Rahul), 4-24 (Karthik), 5-71 (Pant), 6-92 (Pandya), 7-208 (Jadeja), 8-216 (Dhoni), 9-217 (Kumar), 10-221 (Chahal)

Bowling: Boult 10-2-42-2 (w3), Henry 10-1-37-3 (w3), Ferguson 10-0-43-1 (w2), De Grandhomme 2-0-13-0 (w1), Neesham 7.3-0-49-1 (w3), Santner 10-2-34-2 (w1)

Result: New Zealand won by 18 runs

Toss: New Zealand

Umpires: Richard Illingworth (ENG), Richard Kettleborough (ENG)

TV umpire: Rod Tucker (AUS)

Match referee: David Boon (AUS)


SportsTop StoriesWorld Cup 2019
Subscribe us on The Siasat Daily - Google News
Back to top button