IPL 2019: All-round KXIP defeat SRH by 6 wickets

Mohali (Chandigarh): An all-round Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) defeated Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) by six wickets here at the Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali on Monday.

KXIP have moved up to take the third position in the IPL points table, with four wins and two losses, whereas SRH slid to the fourth place with three wins and as many losses.

Top-order KL Rahul and Mayank Agarwal scored match-winning fifties as Punjab chased down a tricky target of 151.
Despite losing the big-hitter Chris Gayle (16) early in the PowerPlay overs, Rahul and Mayank punished Hyderabad bowlers, as they added 114 for the second wicket.

MS Education Academy

Hyderabad pulled things back in a one-sided contest with the dismissal of Mayank (55), who was dropped by Yusuf on 40, leading to the loss of two wickets – David Miller and Mandeep Singh – in quick succession, off pacer Sandeep Sharma.

With 11 required from the last over, Rahul shrugged off the pressure and took Punjab over the line with one ball to spare.

Earlier, after being put to bat, David Warner batted through the innings to remain unbeaten on 70 as Hyderabad posted 150 for the loss of four.

Before Warner and his Ashes rival Jonny Bairstow could settle, off-spinner Mujeeb Ur Rahman struck the English man Bairstow cheaply for one, leaving Hyderabad struggling at seven for one on a sluggish pitch.

Hyderabad, which is overly dependent on the Warner-Bairstow combination, were in deep trouble despite Warner’s brief partnerships with Vijay Shankar and Mohammad Nabi.

R Ashwin first got Shankar (26) caught behind and then run out Nabi (12), who was way too out of his non-striker’s end when Warner smashed the ball back at the off-spinner.

Things started working for Hyderabad as Warner and Manish Pandey settled the nerves, adding 55, to cross the 100-run mark for their side before the Australian batsman lost Pandey (19) off fast bowler Mohammed Shami.

Deepak Hooda, however, carried the momentum as he looted 14 runs off Shami in the last over to lift Hyderabad.
KXIP will fly to play against Mumbai Indians on April 10, while SRH will host Delhi Capitals on April 14.

Brief scores: Kings XI Punjab 151/4 (KL Rahul 71*, MA Agarwal 55, Sandeep Sharma 2-21) beat Sunrisers Hyderabad 150/4 (DA Warner 70*, V Shankar 26, R Ashwin 1-30) by six wickets.


Subscribe us on The Siasat Daily - Google News
Back to top button