Justice Pinaki Chandra Ghose takes oath as first Lokpal

New Delhi: Justice Pinaki Chandra Ghose on Saturday took oath as the first Lokpal of India at the Rashtrapati Bhawan after President Ram Nath Kovind appointed him as the first Ombudsman.

Subhan Bakery - Instagram Commercial

The Rashtrapati Bhawan issued a press communiqué on Tuesday night stating that Justice Ghose has been appointed the chairperson of the Lokpal.

The four other judicial members in the Lokpal are Justice Dilip B Bhosale, Justice Pradip Kumar Mohanty, Justice Abhilasha Kumari and Justice Ajay Kumar Tripathi.

MS Education Academy

Members other than judicial members include Dinesh Kumar Jain, Archana Ramasundaram, Mahender Singh and Dr. Indrajeet Prasad Gautam.

“These appointments will take effect from the dates they assume charge of their respective offices,” informed the Rashtrapati Bhawan statement further.

Earlier, Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge had shot off a letter to Prime Minister Narendra Modi turning down the offer to be a special invitee for the selection of the Lokpal.

The Centre had urged Kharge to be a part of the selection process after the apex court gave 10 days to choose the dates on which the Selection Committee would meet to appoint the Lokpal.


Subscribe us on The Siasat Daily - Google News
Back to top button