Karnataka crisis: 14 MLAs of Cong-JDS alliance submit resignation

BENGALURU: 14 disgruntled legislators of the ruling Congress-Janata Dal coalition in Karnataka submitted their resignation at the speaker’s office on Saturday.

The Speakers office, however, confirmed that only 11 resignations were received and not 14 as had been claimed by BC Patil.

However, when the eight Congress and three JD(S ) MLAs went there to submit their resignation, Assembly Speaker Ramesh Kumar was not in his office and have left their resignations.

Congress-JDS MLAs who were seen at the Speaker’s office include Mahesh Kumathalli, B C Patil, Ramesh Jarkiholi, Shivaram Hebbar, H Vishwanath, Gopalaiah, Byrathi Basavaraj, Narayana Gowda, Munirathna, ST Somashekar and Pratap Gowda Patil later went to the Raj Bhavan to meet Governor Vajubhai Vala in Bengaluru, reports ANI.

“I have come to submit my resignation to speaker. I don’t know about my daughter (Congress MLA Sowmya Reddy), she is an independent woman,” Congress legislator Ramalinga Reddy told news agency ANI while waiting at Speaker Ramesh Kumar’s office. “I am not going to blame anyone in the party or the high command. I somewhere feel I was being neglected over some issues. That is why I have taken this decision,” he added.

The rebel Congress-JDS MLAs after submitting their resignations to the Speaker of the Assembly, met Governor Vajubhai Vala.

READ:  JDU takes high moral ground on tainted minister Mewalal Chaudhary's resignation
Subscribe us on The Siasat Daily - Google News
Back to top button