LS nod to Bill merging Daman, Diu, Dadra & Nagar Haveli UTs

New Delhi: A Bill to merge Daman and Diu, and Dadra and Nagar Haveli Union Territories was on Wednesday passed in the Lok Sabha by voice vote.

Minister of State for Home G. Kishan Reddy, who had introduced the Dadar and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu (Merger of Union Territories) Bill, 2019 for merging the two Union Territories into one on Tuesday, moved the bill for passage.

The government’s move is a step towards better management of administration in the two regions. It comes three months after the bifurcation of Jammu and Kashmir into two Union Territories — Jammu and Kashmir, and Ladakh.

MS Education Academy

As Dadra & Nagar Haveli has just one district, and Daman and Diu has two, the Centre has to spend over separate secretariats and other infrastructure for the two UTs.

Separate budgets are also passed to take care of these regions. After the creation of the UTs of Jammu and Kashmir, and Ladakh, India has nine Union Territories. With the merger of Daman and Diu, and Dadra and Nagar Haveli, the number of UTs will reduce to eight.

Subscribe us on The Siasat Daily - Google News
Back to top button