NDTV Journalist Ravish Kumar wins Ramon Magsaysay Award

New Delhi: Mr. Ravish Kumar, Senior Journalist of NDTV won prestigious Ramon Magsaysay Award, Asia’s highest honour. He has been conferred the award for ‘ harnessing journalism to give voice to the voiceless’.

According to the report published in The News Minute, the award will be given at a ceremony which is scheduled to be held in Manila, Philippines on 9th September.

Courtesy “twitter/ndtv”

The other four recipients of the award are o Swe Win from Myanmar, Angkhana Neelapaijit from Thailand, Raymundo Pujante Cayabyab from the Philippines and Jong-Ki Kim from South Korea.

MS Education Academy

The citation recognizes his “unfaltering commitment to a professional, ethical journalism of the highest standards; his moral courage in standing up for truth, integrity, and independence; and his principled belief that it is in giving full and respectful voice to the voiceless, in speaking truth bravely yet soberly to power, that journalism fulfils its noblest aims to advance democracy.”

Ravish Kumar’s journey from village boy to recipient of Ramon Magsaysay Award

Mr. Ravish who was born in Motihari, Bihar had completed his schooling from Loyola High School, Patna.

Courtesy “twitter/htTweets”

For higher studies, he moved to Delhi.

After graduation from the Deshbandhu College University of Delhi, he completed a post-graduate diploma in Journalism from the Indian Institute of Mass Communication.

Later, he was conferred with various awards including, Ganesh Shankar Vidyarthi Award, Ramnath Goenka Excellence in Journalism Award.

In 2016, Mumbai Press Club had declared him the best journalist of the year. In 2017, he received the first Kuldip Nayar journalism award.

Currently, he is the Managing Editor of NDTV India.

What is Ramon Magsaysay Award?

The Ramon Magsaysay Award is an annual award which is given to Asian individuals and organizations.

The award which is named after Ramon Magsaysay, the third president of the Republic of the Philippines after 2nd World War is known as Asia’s Nobel Prize counterpart.

It was started in 1957 by the trustees of the Rockefeller Brothers Fund with the concurrence of the Philippine government.

Subscribe us on The Siasat Daily - Google News
Back to top button