Chennaiyin edge out Bengaluru to lift ISL trophy

Chennaiyin edge out Bengaluru to lift ISL trophy

Bengaluru [India]: Chennaiyin FC were crowned champions for the second time in the Indian Super League (ISL) history after a valiant 3-2 comeback win against debutant Bengaluru FC at the Sree Kanteerava Stadium.

Sunil Chhetri had opened the scoring for Bengaluru as early as the ninth minute but a brace from Mailson Alves and a beautiful goal from Raphael Augusto ensured that the unfancied Chennaiyin lifted the title once again after 2015.

Miku scored a late goal but it hardly mattered in the end.

It took just nine minutes for the first goal and it was the usual suspect Chhetri who capitalised on a deflected cross from Udanta Singh to score a low header.

It was Alves who equalised just eight minutes after his side had gone behind. Chennaiyin’s defenders were brilliant though, with Inigo Calderon making a heroic block when Dimas Delgado took a shot towards goal at the half an hour mark.

Chhetri and Miku both tried their luck from distance as the first half was coming to a close but Alves scored again to give Chennaiyin the lead at a crucial juncture.

The turning point came in the 67th minute when Augusto fired a goal to leave Gurpreet Singh Sandhu with no chance at all. At 3-1, Bengaluru had no chance but to go all-out attack.

Karanjit made a sharp save off Chhetri’s header in the 74th minute.

Chhetri had a glorious opportunity to make the last few minutes exciting but he inexplicably blazed the ball over the bar with a couple of minutes left.

Miku scored in added time though, converting from Udanta’s cross, but it was too late by then. Chennaiyin ran down the clock and emerged champions. (ANI)

People Also Viewed