Telangana Assembly Result: Analysis of “partywise vote share” reveals interesting facts

Telangana Assembly Result: Analysis of “partywise vote share” reveals interesting facts

Hyderabad: A huge swing of votes in its favour helped Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) to score landslide victory in Telangana Assembly elections, according to poll officials.

The regional party on Tuesday polled about 46.9 percent votes winning 88 seats in the 119-member Assembly. It garnered a little over 97 lakh votes.

The Congress-led four party People’s Front polled 32.8 percent votes (67.95 lakh) but finished with just 21 seats.

Congress party’s vote share was 28.4 percent (58.83 lakh) winning 19 seats while the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) secured 3.5 percent votes (7.25 lakh) with two seats. The Congress had contested 94 seats and TDP 13.

Telangana Jana Samithi (TJS) and the Communist Party of India (CPI), which drew a blank, got only 0.5 percent and 0.4 percent votes respectively.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which contested all seats on its own and got only one seat, polled 7 percent votes (14.50 lakh).

The All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM), which won seven out of eight seats it contested in Hyderabad, polled 2.7 percent votes (5.61 lakh).

Among other parties, the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) polled 2.1 percent, Bahujan Left Front 0.7 percent, Forward Block 0.8 percent, Communist Party of India-Marxist 0.4 percent and Independents 3.3 percent.

Forward Block bagged one seat while one Independent was also elected.

According to the Election Commission, 1.1 percent of voters (2.24 lakh) exercised the NOTA (None Of The Above) option.

Analysis of the partywise vote share revealed the following facts.

  • TRS party’s performance was outstanding both in terms of vote and seat shares. There is an increase of 12.6% and 25 in the vote and seat shares respectively when compared to the party’s performance in 2014.
  • Although vote share of Congress increased when compared to its performance in earlier Assembly Polls, it failed to translate it into seats. Its seat share decreased from 21 to 19.
  • BJP suffered a major setback. Despite a massive campaign in Telangana, it managed to retain only one seat. Party’s State President also lost his seat.
  • Analysis of TDP’s vote and seat share reveals that there is a drastic downfall of the party in Telangana. It seems that the people of Telangana are no longer in favour of TDP.
  • Although MIM managed to retain its seven seats in Telangana Assembly, its vote share has fallen down significantly.
People Also Viewed