Odisha Congress MLA Prakash Chandra Behera resigns

Cuttack: Prakash Chandra Behera, a Congress MLA from Salepur Assembly Constituency (Cuttack district), resigned from the primary membership of the party citing ‘neglect’ and ‘humiliation’ by the leadership.

Behara tendered his resignation to the party president Rahul Gandhi on Saturday.

“In spite of my appeal to the PCC president, my grievance was not considered duly by the PCC. I was all along working for the Congress party for the last 20 years. The Congress party off late has neglected me,” read his resignation letter. “Therefore with a heavy heart I am resigning from the primary membership of the Congress party,” Behara wrote.

MS Education Academy

Assembly elections for the 147 member-strong Legislative Assembly of Odisha will be conducted between April 11 and April 29 in four phases along with the Lok Sabha elections, while counting of votes will take place on May 23.

The term for Odisha Assembly ends on June 11.


Subscribe us on The Siasat Daily - Google News
Back to top button