SP-BSP-RLD alliance to hold first poll campaign from Deoband

LUCKNOW: The three Uttar Pradesh alliance partners – Samajwadi Party, Bahujan Samaj Party and Rashtriya Lok Dal are slated to hold their first joint rally at Deoband on April 7 and the choice of the venue, which has India’s largest Islamic seminary, is being considered significant.

It is worth mentioning that SP, BSP, and RLD have forged an alliance to take on the BJP in the ensuing Lok Sabha elections in the state.

The Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath also made an announcement that state BJP beginning its Lok Sabha campaign from Shakumbhari Temple in Saharanpur district.

MS Education Academy

Adityanath had said at an event that the opposition alliance’s choice of Deoband was an indication “of its orientation and priorities” and that he would kick off the Bharatiya Janata Party’s campaign from the historic temple, just 40km from Deoband.

As per the seat-sharing agreement, SP is contesting 37 seats and BSP 38. Three seats have been given to the RLD–Mathura, Muzaffarpur, and Baghpat.

Uttar Pradesh will go to polls during all seven phases of the election to be held on April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19. Counting of votes will be done on May 23.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha poll, NDA had won 73 seats in the state. SP had got just five seats, while BSP drew a blank.

Subscribe us on The Siasat Daily - Google News
Back to top button