Telangana: Huzurnagar Assembly bypoll on Oct. 21

Hyderabad: Bypolls to 64 Assembly seats in 17 States, including Huzurnagar Assembly constituency in Telangana State and a Union Territory will be held on October 21 and the results will be declared on October 24, the Election Commission said on Saturday.

The EC said notification for the bye-elections will be released on September 23. The last date for filing of nominations is September 30, it said, adding that the scrutiny of nomination papers will be done by October 1. “The last date of withdrawal of candidature is October 3 and the date before which the election should be completed is October 27,” the EC said.

KCR fields Saidi Reddy again in Huzurnagar

MS Education Academy

Meanwhile, the ruling TRS has announced S Saidi Reddy as its candidate for the by-election to Huzurnagar Assembly seat. Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao announced Saidi Reddy’s candidature on Saturday. The announcement was made after the Chief Minister discussed the TRS choice of candidate with Minister G Jagadish Reddy and senior leaders of the party.

Saidi Reddy, in the 2018 Assembly elections, had contested on the TRS ticket from the same constituency but lost by a narrow margin to TPCC president N Uttam Kumar Reddy. However, the Congress leader resigned as the Huzurnagar MLA following his election to the Lok Sabha from the Nalgonda constituency. Uttam announced the name of his wife and former MLA Padmavathi Reddy as the candidate. The Congress working president and MP A Revanth Reddy announced the name of S Kiran Kumar Reddy, spokesman of the party as the candidate. 


Subscribe us on The Siasat Daily - Google News
Back to top button