Triple talaq bill tabled in Rajya Sabha

NEW DELHI: This is the third time that the Central government moved the Triple Talaq Bill in the Rajya Sabha.

 The Bill is being considered in the upper House on Tuesday.

The BJP has already issued a three-line whip to its Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha MPs to be present in both the Houses on Tuesday and support the bills introduced by the government.

MS Education Academy

All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) and Indian National Congress (INC) have also issued whip to its Rajya Sabha MPs to be present in the House on Tuesday.

While Congress whip is only for Tuesday, the TMC whip has been issued to Rajya Sabha MPs for presence in the house for today and the next two days.

The Lok Sabha had on July 25 passed the contentious bill to criminalize triple talaq amidst a walkout by Opposition members who accused the government of singling out a community.

The Bill was passed with 302 votes in favour and 82 against in a division.

The Muslim Women (Protection of Rights on Marriage) Bill, 2019, seeks to criminalize the act of instant divorce among Muslims with a three-year jail sentence for men who practice triple talaq, which has been made illegal by the Supreme Court.

The bill was passed by the 16th Lok Sabha but could not pass the Rajya Sabha hurdle.

Subscribe us on The Siasat Daily - Google News
Back to top button