UAE stops visas to citizens of 13 countries on security concerns

New Delhi: The United Arab Emirates (UAE) has stopped issuing new visas to citizens of 13 mostly Muslim-majority countries.

An immigration document said that applications for new employment and visit visas have been suspended until further notice for nationals outside the UAE from the following 13 countries.

  1. Afghanistan
  2. Algeria
  3. Iran
  4. Iraq
  5. Kenya
  6. Lebanon
  7. Libya
  8. Pakistan
  9. Somalia
  10. Syria
  11. Tunisia
  12. Turkey
  13. Yemen

It is not clear if there are any exceptions to the ban, Al Jazeera reported.

The source did not say what those concerns are but said the visa ban is expected to last for a short period.

Last week, Pakistan’s foreign ministry had said that the UAE had stopped processing new visas for its citizens and those from some other countries.

READ:  SC allows journalist Siddique Kappan to talk to his mother via video conferencing

Islamabad said it is seeking information from the UAE on the reason for the suspension but that it thought it is related to the coronavirus pandemic.

Subscribe us on The Siasat Daily - Google News
Back to top button