• Top Stories
  • Popular
  • People Also Viewed
  • Share
  • Comments

World Cup: ICC breaks silence over umpiring error controversy

World Cup: ICC breaks silence over umpiring error controversy

London: ICC world cup final has become a controversial match as many persons including former international umpire Simon Taufel feel that the umpires made a grave mistake while awarding six runs to England.

It may be mentioned that in the world cup final, Stokes accidentally knocked the ball coming in from fielder Martin Guptill and deflected it off to the boundary while attempting to dive for his crease.  

According to the Law 19.8 related to an “overthrow or wilful act of fielder”, says, “If the boundary results from an overthrow or from the wilful act of a fielder, the runs scored shall be any runs for penalties awarded to either side, and the allowance for the boundary, and the runs completed by the batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had already crossed at the instant of the throw or act.”

According to the report published in India.com, breaking silence over the controversy, ICC Spokesperson said that the organization cannot comment on the decision made by the umpire as it is against the policy. He further said that umpire on the field takes decision based on their interpretation of the rules.

People Also Viewed

Go back to top