Hyderabad News

45 more IAS officers for Telangana

45 more IAS officers for Telangana

The Department of Personnel and Training (DoPT) of the Central government has increased the cadre strength of India Administrative Service (IAS) officers for Telangana by 45. Thus the strength has increased from 163 to 208. The DoPT has permitted Telangana government to utilise the officers as per its requirement in various departments.

Thus Telangana will have one Chief Secretary and two Special Chief Secretaries followed by 16 Principal Secretaries, 18 Secretaries, 19 Commissioner-level officers, 10 Collectors, 11 Joint Collectors, 21 Directors, 5 Project Directors of the rank of Joint Collector, 3 GHMC Commissioners, 3 Special Collectors (Irrigation & Command Area Development) and one post each of IAS officers in Vigilance and Enforcement and Telangana State Public Service Commission.

One IAS officer each will also be appointed as Deputy Chief Electoral Officer, Secretary to Chief Commissioner Land Administration and Joint Commissioner of Commercial Taxes. Forty IAS officers from the State could be deputed to Central services and 28 IAS officers could opt for State deputation. In all, there will be 63 conferred IAS officers.

Siasat news