News Politics Top Stories

56 Muslim candidates fielded by TMC in upcoming West Bengal Assembly Election

56 Muslim candidates fielded by TMC in upcoming West Bengal Assembly Election

Kolkata: The date of Assembly election in West Bengal along with four other states has been announced by the Election Commission of India last Friday.

Of all the five states which are going to the polls,the stake at West Bengal is very high for all the parties involved in this Election. The total number of seat is highest at 294 in West Bengal in comparison to other four states like Tamil Nadu, Kerala,Assam and Puducherry, with 234, 140, 126 and 30 constituencies respectively.

It will be a single-day polling in Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Puducherry on May 16, while it will be in six phases in West Bengal and two in Assam.

Counting of votes in all the States will be held on May 19, Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi announced on Friday.

TMC supremo and West Bengal Chief Minister Mamta Banerjee has announced the list of candidates of all 294 seats which her party is contesting election alone unlike last assembly election when TMC tied up with Congress and Socialist Unity Centre of India and so nominated only 227 seats leaving rest to its partners.

Interestingly, the list includes 56 Muslims candidates which roughly come to 20% of all the seats nominated.

It may be mentioned here that Muslims constitutes 27% of total state population.Of the 56 Muslims candiadates,10 are female candidates.

In the 2011 assembly election, the party had fielded 39 Muslim candidates out of which 38 made to the Legislative assembly.

Murshidabad,being the highest Muslim populated district of around 63%,has been fielded highest number of candidates that is 14 followed by 10 Muslims from North Pargana.Malda,which has around 50% Muslim population, has fielded 05 Muslim candidates.Hoogly district too has been fielded 05 candidates.

Uttar Dinajpurand Bardman districts have fielded 04 each while Howrah and Birbhum 03 each. Other districts like Nadia,Kolkata have been fielded 02 each and rest districts like Dakshin Dinajpur,Cooch Behar,Purba and Paschim Mednipur have been fielded 01 each.

The first phase to be held in Naxal-affected areas will have two polling dates — April 4 and April 11. The other phases will be held on April 17, 21, 25, 30 and May 5.


Courtesy: Muslim Mirror