Thursday , October 13 2016
Home / News / Andhra Pradesh / Andhra declares 196 ‘mandals’ drought-hit

Andhra declares 196 ‘mandals’ drought-hit


The Andhra Pradesh government on Tuesday declared 196 “mandals” or sub-district clusters of 10 villages or more, out of the total 664, drought-affected.

Chief Minister N. Chandrababu Naidu said the assessment of rainfall this year show that 196 mandals are drought-affected and his government was working on contingency plans.

As many as 150 of the drought-affected mandals are in Rayalseema, which recorded relatively higher rainfall deficit this year.

In Rayalaseema, Kurnool accounts for 40 drought-hit mandals while 39 mandals each in Anantapur and Chittoor were also included in the list.

There are 33 drought-hit mandals in Kadapa, the fourth district of the backward region.

Out of nine districts in coastal Andhra, parts of only three districts were declared drought-affected. The districts and affected mandals are Prakasam (21), Nellore (14) and Srikakulam (10).

According to Indian Meteorological Department (IMD) during southwest monsoon season (June 1 to September 30), coastal Andhra Pradesh received 639.4 mm rainfall against the average of 580.8 mm, but Rayalaseema received 360.6 mm as against the average of 398.6 mm.

Read Also


Chandrababu wishes people of two Telugu States