BJP to fight Puducherry assembly polls alone; releases first list of candidates

, 10:32 PM IST

New Delhi: With the ruling AINRC continuing to maintain silence on its poll strategy, its alliance partner BJP on Friday decided to go it alone in the May 16 Assembly polls.

Talking to reporters in Puducherry after releasing the first list of names of candidates for 16 of 30 constituencies, BJP national secretary Mahesh Giri, the party’s in charge in Puducherry, said “BJP is fighting the coming polls alone”.

“It appears that AINRC is not in a decision taking mood… hence BJP has now decided to go it alone in the polls. We cannot prolong our strategy,” the MP said.

He said the next list of names of candidates for the remaining 14 seats would be released soon.

The list of BJP nominees released today for 16 segments related to 12 constituencies in Puducherry (which has 23 constituencies), two in Karaikal (out of five) and one each in Mahe and Yanam regions. V Saminathan, president of Puducherry State unit of BJP is the nominee for the Lawspet segment.

Mahesh Giri said party`s election manifesto was being finalised and would be released soon.

The ruling AINRC fought the Lok Sabha polls in 2014 in alliance with BJP and the AINRC nominee emerged victorious, defeating the then Central Minister and Congress candidate V Narayanasamy. Giri formally introduced all the candidates for the 16 constituencies.