Cong. leaders including M A Shabbir detained for protesting against Dharna Chowk shifting

, 4:16 PM IST

Hyderabad: Police detained leaders of Telangana unit of Congress party including Telangana state Congress chief Uttam Kumar Reddy, former ministers Bhatti Vikramarka, Mohammed Ali Shabbir, D. Nagender and former MPs V. Hanumantha Rao and Anjan Kumar Yadav here on Monday as the party intensified its protest over shifting of ‘Dharna Chowk’. They were shifted to different police stations. ‘Dharna Chowk’ is a popular venue of protests in Hyderabad.

Police evicted the leaders who sat on satyagraha at the statue of B.R. Ambedkar on the ground that there is no permission for the protest. This sparked off tension at Tank Bund.

As reported by Indian Express the Congress party had called for the protest to demand Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) government to revive ‘Dharna Chowk’ at Indira Park in the heart of the city.