Friday , August 18 2017
Home / News / Andhra Pradesh / HC issues notices to 4 AP ministers

HC issues notices to 4 AP ministers

 The Hyderabad High Court on Tuesday issued notices to the Andhra Pradesh Government and four ministers on a petition challenging their induction into the state cabinet.

Hearing a Public Interest Litigation (PIL) filed by a journalist Sivaprasad Reddy, the High Court served notices to N. Amarnath Reddy, C. Adinarayana Reddy, R.S. Krishna Ranga Rao and Bhuma Akhila Priya, who were inducted into the AP cabinet in April after they defected to the ruling Telugu Desam Party (TDP) from the YSR Congress Party. The petitioner argued that the induction of defected legislators as ministers was unconstitutional. The AP Government and four ministers have been asked to file counter affidavits within four weeks.

Further, the High Court has decided to hear a similar PIL filed against inclusion of Talasani Srinivas Yadav in Telangana cabinet along with the PIL against four AP ministers. Talasani was elected on TDP ticket in 2014 elections. However, he switched loyalties and joined ruling TRS to get inducted as minister. (INN