Wednesday , December 7 2016
Home / News / Politics / Puducherry Assembly to have women MLAs after 20 years

Puducherry Assembly to have women MLAs after 20 years


New Delhi: After a gap of 20 years, the Puducherry assembly will have women legislators with four of them getting elected on Thursday.

V Vizeaveny (Cong – Nettapakkam), Geetha (DMK-Neravy T R Pattinam, B Kobika (AINRC -Thirubuvani) and Chandrapriyanka (AINRC – Neduncadu) were among the 30 legislators elected to the assembly.

No women candidate were elected to the assembly after S Arasi (AIADMK) in 1996.

Congress, which was routed in Assam and Kerala, got a consolation victory of sorts in Puducherry as the party along with DMK stormed to power in the tiny union territory with a simple majority. The alliance bagged 17 seats in the 30-member assembly.

Congress avenged its defeat in the 2011 elections at the hands of AINRC founder N Rangasamy, who broke away from the national party to form his outfit and rode it to power, as the ruling party fell by the wayside bagging just eight seats.

Read Also


Both govt, Oppn responsible for Parliment logjam: BJP veteran Advani