Rahul forms jumbo 171-member Karnataka PCC

Rahul forms jumbo 171-member Karnataka PCC

New Delhi: Gearing up for 2018 Karnataka Assembly polls, Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi today formed a jumbo 171-member committee for its state unit.

The new Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) announced today has 17 vice presidents, 55 general secretaries and 96 secretaries, besides a treasurer.

Gandhi had earlier appointed G Parmeshwar as the president of the KPCC and K C Venugopal as the AICC general secretary in-charge.

He also approved a proposal to appoint Kameshwar Baitha as Chairman of the SC department of Jharkhand PCC, a statement from AICC general secretary Janardan Dwivedi said.

The party vice president also expanded Himachal Pradesh’s SC department by including 23 new office-bearers, ahead of this year’s assembly polls.

Of these 23 new appointees, 11 have been made vice chairmen while the remaining 12 as conveners of the SC committee in the state.

The new appointments are part of Congress’ efforts to restructure its various departments, especially in poll-bound states.