RS polls: BJP wins all-four seats from Rajasthan, Congress bags one from U’khand

, 6:50 PM IST

Jaipur/ Dehradun : The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Saturday won all four seats from Rajasthan, while Congress bagged a lone seat from Uttarakhand in the polls held to elect Rajya Sabha members.

BJP’s candidates from Rajasthan included Union Minister Venkaiah Naidu and OP Mathur.

A total of 199 MLAs out of 200 casted their votes to elect the four members. The High Court had debarred one BSP MLA, who is in jail in a murder case, from exercising his vote.

“I would like to thank people of Rajasthan and the local unit of BJP. I will try my best to support matters related to Rajasthan in the Centre,” Naidu told media after winning.

From Uttarakhand, Congress leader Pradeep Tamta was elected to Rajya Sabha.

“BJP has been trying to politically destabilize the state, this is a victory against it. I would like to tell Modi Ji’s government to learn from this. Development is possible only when Centre and States work together,” Tamta told media persons after victory.

Seven states went to polls today to elect 27 Rajya Sabha members.

These include 11 seats from Uttar Pradesh, four each from Karnataka and Rajasthan, three from Madhya Pradesh, two each from Haryana and Jharkhand and one from Uttarakhand.

Out of 57 Rajya Sabha seats falling vacant, voting will take place for only 27 seats today as 30 candidates were declared elected unopposed at the end of withdrawal of nominations on June 3. (ANI)