Wednesday , October 12 2016
Home / News / Hyderabad / All set for GHMC elections

All set for GHMC elections


As many 74,23,980 voters will decide the fate of 1,333 candidates who are in fray from 150 wards for Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation elections on Tuesday.

TRS is the largest party with 150 divisions followed by by Congress with 149, TDP – 95, BJP – 66, MIM – 60, BSP – 55, Lok Satta – 26, CPM – 22, CPI – 21, MBT – 20, Other Registered parties – 29 and as many as 640 independents are in fray.

Ward 45-Jangammet has maximum of 28 candidates followed by, 129-Suraram (21), 139 – East Anand Bagh (18), 9- Ramanthapur (17), 120 -Balanagar (17), 22-Chaitanyapuri and 119 – Old Bowenpally (16 each), 8-Lingojiguda, 130-Subash Nagar and 140 – Malkajgiri (15 each), 5- Mallapur, 81- Nallakunta and 87- Ramnagar (14 each) and 99-Vengalrao Nagar, 117-Moosapet, 136 – Neredmet and 138 – Moula Ali (13 each).

Eight wards have least number of four candidates in the fray. They are 29-Chawani, 47-Nawab Sahab Kunta, 57-Sulemannagar, 64-Dattatreya Nagar, 67-Golconda, 69-Nanal Nagar, 74-Ahmed Nagar and 110 – Chandanagar.

While Mehdipatnam ward has the less number of 29,854 voters, Subhashnagar under Quthbullapur have the most voters with 89,159 followed by Mylardevpally (76,038) and Kondapur (72,911).

Around 7,802 polling centres have been established across the GHMC limits for the voters to cast their votes. Nearly 25,000 policemen have been deployed for the peaceful and smooth conduct of elections.

Officials of Hyderabad and Ranga Reddy district administrations have announced a public holiday on Tuesday. Holiday has been declared for all state government offices, local bodies and educational institutions in both districts as per provisions of the Negotiable Instrument Act, 1881. February 5, the day of vote counting, has been declared a local holiday for institutions where counting is scheduled to take place. (INN)

Read Also


M Veda Kumar visits Alawa Bibi